Tour Guide – Florida Natural Springs

20180214_124656
Welcome.

I’m still in Otter Springs. It’s a great place to stay if you are looking for seclusion, close proximity to nature, quiet/peace, and quite frankly to be left alone. Although the weekends fill up some, it still maintains a level of moderation and respect. It’s abundantly clear rowdiness is not tolerated here.

20180214_110721.jpg
Very pretty.

After a couple days of rain, I ventured out and visited Rainbow Springs State Park. On my way there I passed a couple places I need to mention because I would like to return there. The Goethe State Forest appeared to be a pine forest with rows and rows of recently planted pine trees. In the Goethe State Forest was a ranch called Black Prong Equestrian Center which was magnificent (check out their website, the link is below). Directly following the equestrian center were Black Prong trails, I’m betting we have to share the trails with the horses, watch your step!

https://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Florida-Forest-Service/Our-Forests/State-Forests/Goethe-State-Forest

http://www.blackprong.com/

20180214_110839
Seminole Falls. Manmade in 1937.

Rainbow Springs State Park is another natural springs park with waterfalls, gardens, picnic areas, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, etc. There is only a $2. entry fee, well worth it.

https://www.floridastateparks.org/park/Rainbow-Springs

20180214_112008_001
Rainbow Falls.

I put some links below if you would like to know more about the springs in Florida. I have been in lakes with underground springs. I always liked to find them, stand over them and feel the warm water rushing. This reminds me of that on a much grander scale. I can watch the springs bubble up through the silty sand, the fish gather around the spring the same as I used to. It’s fascinating.

I will let the pictures tell the rest of the story.

20180214_112145 (1)

20180214_113551
The butterfly is doing its butterfly dance in the flowering bush.
20180214_115130
I’ve got my feet in the crystal clear spring water. Ahh, so nice. Yes, there were people swimming.
20180214_115842
Now that will slow your breathing down.

These links will give you almost all of the information you might want about the natural springs in Florida.

https://floridadep.gov/springs

https://www.swfwmd.state.fl.us/springs/learn/

http://www.floridasprings.org/visit/

Click to access VNNF_SpringsGuide_Final.pdf

 

Thousands have lived without love, not one without water. W. H. Auden

 

Sunrise or sunset?

Donna

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tour Guide – Florida Natural Springs

  1. This reminds me of, when my son was around 9 years old, I took him down to Florida and, while there, we visited a place called Homosassa Springs. It was quite like this and, my son loved watching the Dugongs gliding through the crystal clear waters. Only problem was, we went in summer and, you could, literally, cut the humidity with a knife. 🙂 Nice shots Donna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not that much humidity, yet. I am aware of it in the camper on some days, I keep the fan running to move the air around. Crystal springs is next on my list, maybe I will swim with the manatees, it’s the only place legal to do so.
      Thank you, Alan.

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close